Department of Physics

The Department of Physics came into existence in the year 2004 with the commencement of the science groups at the intermediate level in the institution. With its dedicated faculty members, this department has attained large goals in the past few years since its inception apart from bringing state highest mark in the subject at the intermediate level and thereby bringing glory not only to the institute itself but to the locality also. The year 2017 saw the launching of the undergraduate course under the affiliation from the Bodoland University, Kokrajhar. At present, the department offers physics course at both intermediate and undergraduate ( B.Sc. Honours and Generic) levels. An effort is also underway to introduce physics in the Masters level shortly.

List of faculties :

  • Hriday Kalita / M.Sc.
    Specialization: Spectroscopy, Nuclear Physics
    email id:
    contact number: 94358-68264
  • Dr. Bandita Choudhury, / M.Sc., Ph.D.
    Specialization: Electronics and Photonics
    email id:
    contact number: 9957234868
  • Dr. Nayan Talukdar, / M.Sc., Ph.D.
    email id:
    contact number:
  • Dr. Bhabesh Nath, /M.Sc., Ph.D
    email id:
    contact number:
    • Rajib Haloi, / M.Sc.
      Specialization: Condensed Matter Physics email id:
      contact number: 9706426223
    • Mahadev Das / M.Sc.
      Specialization: Spectroscopy
      email id:
      contact number: 8473978920
      • Pracchaya Choudhury, / M.Sc.
        Specialization: Electronics Nano Physics
        email id:
        contact number: 7896825983